About Us

Our mission

To ensure retail success by informing, protecting, advocating, educating and saving money for members.

About the ARA

Founded in 1903, the Australian Retailers Association is Australia’s largest retail association, representing a $325bn sector employing more than 1.3 million people.

THE ARA HAS BEEN ENSURING THE success of its members for
the retail sector is worth over
in the last 6 years, the ara retail institute trained over
the ara has developed
policies and codes of
ARA policy successes have delivered the retail industry over
million in savings
to australia’s economy, employing over
million people
of Australia’s top 20 retailers
are ara members
ARA policy successes have delivered the retail industry over
new jobs
offered to candidates who completed the ‘retail ready’ jobs program

ARA History

  • 1903
    Master Retailers Association of NSW formed
  • 1910
    Master Grocers folds and joins Master Retailers Association of NSW
  • 1921
    Name changed to The Retail Traders Association of New South Wales
  • 1940
    Australian Council of Retailers formed
  • 1943
    First Australian Council of Retailers annual conference held in Melbourne
  • 1974
    Australian Council of Retailers becomes Australian Retailers Association
  • 1989
    Australian Retailers Association becomes Retail Traders Association of Australia
  • 1991
    The Retail Traders Association of Australia becomes the Retail Council of Australia
  • 1998
    Heads of agreement from state associations signed to amalgamate into the Australian Retailers Association
  • 2004
    Australian Retailers Association approved as a registered organisation under the Workplace Relations Act
  • 2006
    State divisions abolished and the Australian Retailers Association becomes a truly national body

ARA Council

The ARA Council is the governing board of the Australian Retailers Association, comprising representatives from small, medium and large Australian retail businesses.

Election Notice – E2018/233 Candidate Bios – E2018/233

Anthony Wilson

ARA Vice President, Owner - Saltwater Wine

Rowan Hodge

ARA President

Steve Plarre

Secretary, CEO - Ferguson Plarre Bakehouses

Ralph Edwards

ARA Council Member, CEO - Bright Eyes

Beth Knight

ARA Advisory Councillor

Charlie Davey

ARA Council Member, Head of Category Management - Leading Edge Group

Greg Leslie

ARA Council Member, Managing Director - Battery World Townsville

Drew Meads

ARA Council Member, Chairman - Forty Winks group

Jack Gance

ARA Council Member, Chairman - Chemist Warehouse

Stephen Younane

ARA Council Member, CEO - Retail Prodigy Group

Toby Darvall

ARA Council Member, CEO - Ishka

Graham Dear

ARA Advisory Councillor

We're here to help
  • Email Get in touch
  • Phone 1300 368 041
  • Get support Become a member
Industry News