Public Holidays

Like other regions in Australia, Tasmania observes a set of public holidays that are recognised throughout the state. Additionally, Tasmania aligns its Daylight Saving arrangements with several other Australian states and territories. 

Daylight Saving Time in Tasmania:
Tasmania follows Daylight Saving Time practices that are consistent in the ACT, New South Wales, South Australia, and Victoria. Specifically, the Daylight Saving period in Tasmania begins on the first Sunday in October and concludes on the first Sunday in April. 

Keep these dates and arrangements in mind, ensuring you’re always on local time and aware of the region’s public holidays. 

Tasmania Public Holidays
2024 / 2025


Date in 2024

Date in 2025

New Year’s Day 1

Monday 1 January

Wednesday 1 January

Australia Day 1

Friday 26 January

Monday 27 January

Eight Hours Day

Monday 11 March

Monday 10 March

Good Friday

Friday 29 March

Friday 18 April

Easter Monday

Monday 1 April

Monday 21 April

Easter Tuesday
(generally Tasmania Public Service only)

Tuesday 2 April

Tuesday 22 April


Thursday 25 April

Friday 25 April

King’s Birthday

Monday 10 June

Monday 9 June

Christmas Day 1

Wednesday 25 December 

Thursday 25 December 

Boxing Day 1

Thursday 26 December 

Friday 26 December 

  1. Substitute holiday applies.

Regional Tasmania Public Holidays
2024 / 2025


Date in 2024

Date in 2025


Devonport Cup – generally Tasmanian Public Service only

Wednesday 10 January

Wednesday 8 January

Half day holiday from 11am in the municipal areas of Devonport, Latrobe, Kentish, City of Burnie, Waratah/Wynyard, Circular Head, Central Coast and West Coast

Royal Hobart Regatta

Monday 12 February

Monday 10 February

South of and including Oatlands and Swansea excluding Bronte Park, Catagunya, Strathgordon, Tarraleah, Wayatinah & West Coast

Launceston Cup – generally Tasmanian Public Service only

Wednesday 28 February

Wednesday 26 February

All Day: Municipal areas of Break O’Day, Dorset, George Town, Glamorgan-Spring Bay (north of and including Cranbrook), Launceston excluding Launceston City centre and suburbs specified below, Meander Valley excluding suburbs and townships specified below, Northern Midlands, Southern Midlands north of but not including Oatlands, West Tamar excluding townships specified below 

From 11am: Launceston City centre and the following suburbs and townships Alanvale, Blackstone Heights, East Launceston, Elphin, Franklin Village, Glen Dhu, Inveresk, Invermay, Killafaddy, Kings Meadows, Mayfield, Mowbray, Mowbray Heights, Newnham, Newstead, North Riverside, Norwood, Prospect, Prospect Vale, Punchbowl, Ravenswood, Riverside, Rocherlea, St Leonards, Sandhill, South Launceston, Summerhill, Trevallyn, Vermont, Waverley, West Launceston, West Riverside, Youngtown 

King Island Show

Tuesday 5 March

Tuesday 4 March

King Island only


Friday 3 May

Friday 2 May

Municipal area of Circular Head only

Burnie Show

Friday 4 October

Friday 3 October

Municipal areas of Burnie, Waratah-Wynyard and West Coast

Royal Launceston Show

Thursday 10 October

Thursday 9 October

Municipal areas of Break O’Day, Dorset, George Town, Launceston, Meander Valley, Northern Midlands, West Tamar

Flinders Island Show

Friday 18 October

Friday 17 October

Municipal area of Flinders Island

Royal Hobart Show

Thursday 24 October

Thursday 23 October

All of Tasmania south of and including Oatlands and Swansea also Bronte Park, Strathgordon, Tarreleah and Wayatinah. Excludes West Coast

Recreation Day

Monday 4 November

Monday 3 November

All parts of the state which do not observe Royal Hobart Regatta

Devonport Day

Friday 29 December

Friday 28 November

Municipal areas of Devonport, Kentish and Latrobe

The information provided above regarding Tasmania’s public holidays is sourced from the official Tasmanian Government website.

Public holidays by State or Territory

For more detail on specific State or Territory public holidays, including regional public holidays, select a state below: 

ARA advocates for complete deregulation of trading hours 

The ARA is a strong advocate for the complete deregulation of retail trading hours to provide retailers with the flexibility to trade at the hours that suit their business and customers. Deregulation enables flexibility and allows retailers to cater for local demand which can vary considerably across Australia, especially as we adapt to new ways of living and working, post-pandemic.  

Consumers have access to online, often overseas-based retailers 24/7 and while bricks and mortar retailers do not necessarily want or need to be open 24/7, they do need the flexibility to tailor trading hours to meet the expectations of their customers and remain competitive. 

How trading hours are regulated in each State/Territory
Trading hours are subject to regulation at the state and territory level. While some jurisdictions only regulate trading hours on public holidays and other occasions, other states restrict hours generally or have other restrictions based on geographic area or type of retailer. 

Generally, in jurisdictions that have regulations, small businesses are considered “exempt” from trading hour restrictions and it is “non-exempt” retailers, supermarkets and department stores that are most restricted in the hours that they can open. Public holidays also vary across states and territories and so do the restrictions that apply for these holidays.   


Regulation Status




Trading hours are deregulated in the ACT, meaning there are no restrictions in place including on public holidays.  


Some regulation of specified public holidays

Trading hours are largely deregulated in NSW but there are some restrictions on some public holidays, including Good Friday, Easter Sunday, Anzac Day before 1pm, Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Some exemptions to these restrictions apply.



Trading hours are deregulated in the NT, meaning there are no restrictions in place including on public holidays.



Trading hours in QLD are regulated by government, with restrictions in place through the year and on public holidays, according to location and/or type of retailer.



SA has recently updated its Shop Trading Hour Act 1977 to enable less restricted trading hours, allowing most shops to now open from 9am on Sundays and Public Holidays, and to allow trading on Boxing Day for certain shops, as well as three midnight trading days in the lead up to Christmas. 



Tasmanian trading hours are regulated under the Shop Trading Hours Act 1984according to location and/or type of shop.


Some regulation of specified public holidays

Partially deregulated.  Some restrictions apply for Christmas, Good Friday and Anzac Day with exemptions for certain types of retailers, including cafes and chemists. 



Trading hours are regulated in WA under the Retail Trading Hours Act 1987 (WA)according to location and/or category of retailer with small retail shops unrestricted.