The advisory committee brings together sustainability professionals to advance ethical and sustainable business practices across the sector, including climate action, circular economy and ethical trade.

Comprising Australia’s leaders in sustainability in retail, this Advisory Committee has helped to define the ARA’s Sustainability and Impact Strategy, and provides guidance to the ARA on a range of sustainability and ESG matters.

This committee is open to Sustainability Directors, Heads of Sustainability, Sustainability Managers and equivalent representatives nominated by premium ARA members.


  • Help shape a shared vision for sustainability across the retail sector
  • Work collaboratively to deliver initiatives and campaigns to bring that vision to life
  • Provide insights, expertise and resourcing to support delivery of the ARA’s strategic priorities
  • Participate in peer-learning exchanges – sharing experiences, achievements and lessons with other committee members
  • Leverage the scale and experience of our largest members to uplift the whole sector

Key Recent Focus Areas

  • Defining a sectorial response to climate change
  • Accelerating the transition to the circular economy
  • Supporting product stewardship schemes, phase-out of single use plastics, and container deposit schemes
  • Promoting modern slavery reporting and broader supply chain risks

Participating Retailers:
Coles, Myer, CottonOn, Australia Post, Woolworths, Kmart, Officeworks, Bunnings, JB HiFi, McDonalds, KFC, and many more.

Committee Leaders

Susan Mizrahi
Chief Sustainability Officer,
Australia Post

Fleur Brown
Chief Industry Affairs Officer,
Australian Retailers Association

Jason Robertson
Director – Sustainability and Impact,
Australian Retailers Association